When the Connecticut legislative session ended on June 3, so too did chances for legislation that would have expanded the joint-employer definition (with penalties) to new, dizzying heights! Identical bills (House bill 6791and S1044 in the Senate) in both branches would have required a franchisor to pay the state a penalty of $1/hour for every employee NOT BEING PAID $15/hour by their franchise owner employer!. (Remember, Connecticut 2015 minimum wage is $9.15/hour, but a franchisee paying less than $15/hour would get the franchisor a $1/employee/hour penalty.) And don’t think it wasn’t viewed favorably in Connecticut legislative circles – the Joint Committee on Labor and Public Employees moved both bills favorably to their respective chamber! I couldn’t make this stuff up!!!