As evidence of the above comment, the states of Arizona and Washington added themselves to the litany of states mandating that private employers provide paid leave to their employers. In Washington, Governor Jay Inslee signed a bill into law earlier this week that provides eligible employees with 12 weeks of paid time off for the birth or adoption of a child or to care for an ill family member. In combination of a child and an illness, workers may be entitled to 16 weeks paid leave with the possibility of an additional 2 weeks if there is a serious health complication with the pregnancy – potentially, up to 18 weeks off with pay! It took a little different path in Arizona, but the result, which took effect this past Saturday, is pretty much the same, albeit even more stringent. Paid sick leave was an integral part of the minimum wage ballot initiative that was passed by the state’s voters there back in November. The Arizona law, which became effective this past week, mandates paid sick leave for full-time, part-time and seasonal employees and also provides that sick leave may be carried over from one year to the next. California, Connecticut, Oregon, Massachusetts and Vermont (as well as the District of Columbia and a broad array of cities) already mandate paid leave, while the New York mandate will become effective in January 2018.