It seems prudent to advise early of changes and mandates that will take effect when new government fiscal years begin in July. As with predictive scheduling in Oregon above, July 2018 becomes a trigger date for new mandates in Rhode Island as well. The Healthy and Safe Families and Workplace Act, signed into law by Governor Gina Raimondi back on September 28, 2017, officially becomes effective on July 1. On that date, employers with 18 or more employees will be required to allow workers to accrue paid leave at the rate of one hour earned for every 35 hours worked. Employees are capped in the amount of paid leave they can use at 24 hours in 2018, 32 hours in 2019 and 40 hours annually thereafter. DDIFO employment counsel Morgan, Brown & Joy, LLP explains that employees may use accrued time for a number of reasons including to care for themselves or a family member, including diagnosis, treatment or preventative care; to provide for care if health authorities identify communicable diseases that may jeopardize the health of others; or if the employee or family member is a victim of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking.