Last week, New York City joined a handful of much smaller towns and cities in granting the right to vote in local municipal elections to non-US citizens. By a vote of 33-14, the New York City Council passed the Our City Our Vote Act into law, granting the right to vote to green card holders and so-called dreamers (recipients of Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals – DACA – status) who have lived in New York City for a minimum of 30 days. Lame-duck Mayor Bill de Blasio has expressed concerns about the legality of the legislation has said he will not veto it and allow it to become law. Mayor-elect Eric Abrams, who takes office on January 1, campaigned as a strong proponent of the legislation, so it will become effective in the Big Apple – unless there’s a legal challenge, which is anticipated. New York, with an estimated 800,000 affected residents, joins some 11 communities in Maryland and 2 towns in Vermont that have also authorized non-citizen voters. San Francisco also allows non-citizens to vote, but only in school board elections.