We tried to advise you in last weeks issue of the many states and localities that increased their effective minimum wage with the coming of the new fiscal years on July 1, but doing so is shooting at the ultimate moving target. As a case in point, the Delaware legislature debated throughout the weekend and into the early morning hours on July 1 crafting a compromise bill to raise the minimum wage to $9.25, phased in over a two year period. The final provision in the compromise that ultimately passed along mostly party lines allows for workers under the age of 18 as well as those over 18 during their first 90 days on a job to be paid up to $.50 below the state minimum. The bill was sent to Governor John Carney, who is expected to sign it into law. An unrelated bill that was signed by Carney grants state workers in Delaware up to 12 weeks of paid leave for the birth, adoption or fostering of a child. This paid leave benefit only applies to state workers at the present time, but expect a push to broaden its application.