Remember the good ol’ days when elected officials threatened to increase minimum wages to $10.10 per hour? The rapidly-approaching New Year is a natural time for salary increases, and it is indeed the time when most minimum wage laws – at the state and local levels – provide for increases. In fact, more than half the country (26 states) dictates an increase in minimum wages during the coming year with 22 of them becoming effective on January 1, 2022. There’s always an exception to the rule however and New York is it, with the state minimum wage increasing to $13.20 a day earlier, on December 31, 2021. The remaining states with minimum wage hikes effective the first of the year are: Alaska ($10.34), Arizona ($12.80), California ($14 for less than 26 employees and $15 for 26 or more), Colorado ($12.56), Delaware ($10.50), Illinois ($12), Maine ($12.75), Maryland ($12.50 for 15 or more employees and $12.20 for less than 15), Massachusetts ($14.25), Michigan ($9.87), Minnesota ($10.33 for gross receipts over $500,000; $8.43 less than $500,000), Missouri ($11.15), Montana ($9.20), New Jersey ($13 for 6 or more employees and $11.90 for 5 or less), New Mexico ($11.50), Ohio ($9.30 for gross receipts of $342,000 or more and the federal rate for lesser receipts), Rhode Island ($12.25), South Dakota ($9.95), Virginia ($12.55) and Washington ($14.49). Employers must also be aware that some states allow counties and cities to set their own minimums differing from the state mandates. You can find more information on minimum wage changes on the govdocs website.