With the turn of the calendar on Monday, a number of states will see changes in various state laws and we want to ensure that you are aware. We provide additional details on those changes in this entry, but to clarify who should look further, changes will become effective on or around July 1st in the following states: Florida, Idaho, Kentucky, Minnesota, Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey and New Mexico. As of July 1, employees in Florida who can prove they’ve discontinued employment as a direct result of circumstances related to domestic violence will not be disqualified from unemployment benefits. Come July 1, Idaho expands the timeframe on the statute of limitations for filing a claim for lost wages or liquidated damages after receiving partial payment. Employees will now have 12 month rather than the previous 6-month window. Effective yesterday, June 27, the Kentucky Pregnant Workers Act offers specific employment protections to pregnant workers for health issues related to pregnancy. Employers now must offer such reasonable accommodations as more break time, recovery time after childbirth, appropriate seating, light duty work and a private (not restroom) area for expressing breast milk. Employers may decline if such accommodations present an undue hardship. Minnesota employers are required effective July 1 to retain certain records relating personnel policies and required notices provided to employees. Further, new employees must receive a detailed written notice at the start of their employment including info on pay rates; any meal or lodging allowances; paid vacation, sick, or other PTO terms; employment status; deductions that may be taken from pay; the pay period; the legal and operating names of the employer; and the employer’s contact information (specifically, the physical and mailing address of the employer’s main office or principal place of business, as well as its telephone number). Also effective July 1, Minnesota has criminalized wage theft, meaning it will be prosecuted as criminal theft. Nevada law beginning on Monday allows a person convicted of an offense that’s since been decriminalized to have the court records sealed (think marijuana). In two weeks, on July 14, New Hampshire law will limit workers under 18 years of age to working no more than 8 hours per 24-hour period between 8PM and 6 AM. New Jersey’s paid family and medical leave law will apply to employers with at least 30 employees during each working day in the 20 or more calendar workweeks in the calendar year. And finally, July 1 will usher in a gender-neutral restroom requirement in New Mexico where a single-user toilet facility must be made available to any person regardless of gender identity or sex.