The legislature in the state of Maine last week approved An Act Authorizing Earned Employee Leave (LD 369) and sent it to Governor Janet Mills for her signature. Mills is expected to sign the legislation as she was instrumental in negotiating the final product. Taking effect on January 1, 2021, the bill requires employers in Maine with 10 or more employees working for more than 120 hours in a calendar year to provide one hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked. That paid leave may be used for any reason an employee may want and only requires that an employee provide “reasonable notice” of the intent to take leave but is silent on what “reasonable notice” entails. Violations by employers of the new law will subject the employer to fines up to $1,000 per violation. The legislation also preempts local communities from enacting their own paid leave mandates.