As January 1 rapidly approaches, it is imperative for small business owners to be aware of the changes in federal, state and local laws that become effective with the new year. Toward that end, we would advise you that the minimum wage will increase in each of the following states on January 1: Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Florida, Illinois, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Ohio, South Dakota, Vermont and Washington State. Furthermore, some of these increases only apply to employers with a certain number of employees, while many localities across the country have set their own minimum wages which may differ from the state mandate. In addition, other states will be increasing the mandated minimum wage at different times of the year. Therefore, business owners are well-advised to check with counsel or any of the professional Human Resources firms in the DDIFO Business Member Directory to ensure that you are in compliance with any new compensation requirements for 2020.