New Hampshire and Maine became the latest to ban the use of non-compete clauses for low-wage workers when Republican Governor Chris Sununu signed SB 197 last week and Maine Governor Janet Mills (D) signed L.D. 733 at the end of June. The NH bill, which was one of 42 pieces Sununu signed into law at the time, bans non-compete agreements for employees whose hourly rate is less than or equal to double the federal minimum wage of $7.25 an hour. Annualized, that salary comes to just over $30,000. The new ban becomes effective on September 8 of this year and will apply to all employers in the Granite State. At the same time, the Governor also vetoed a separate bill (H.B. 211) that would have added New Hampshire to the list of states banning questions about a job applicant’s salary history. In Maine, the new law banning low wage non-compete clauses applies to all employees earning four times the federal poverty level or less, a formula that translates to just under $50,000 per year. In addition however, the Maine law (LD 733) also restricts agreement for employees earning more than that threshold unless the employer discloses the non-compete provision before offering employment to a prospective employee.