New Jersey’s new paid sick leave law becomes effective on Monday, October 29 and in preparation for its implementation, the state labor department last week released final regulations as well as the official notice poster that employers are required to display. Beginning Monday, all employers in New Jersey, regardless of their size, must provide up to 40 hours of paid sick leave per year to their covered employees. In addition, all employers must provide this New Jersey Earned Sick Leave Notice of Employee Rights to new employees when they begin their employment, existing employees by November 29, 2018 and post it in a conspicuous accessible place in all work sites and provide copies to employees upon request. The act includes a rebuttable presumption that adverse actions within 90 days of an employee engaging in protected activity are retaliatory. For violations of the act, employees may sue the employer and can seek actual damages plus an equal amount of liquidated damage per year!