With the flip of the calendar to December, we need to be aware of pending increases in state minimum wages across the country.  To that end, on January 1, 2017 the following increases will become effective: Arizona to $10 per hour; Arkansas to $8.50; California to $10.50; Colorado to $9.30; Connecticut to $10.10; Hawaii to $9.25; Maine to $9.00; Massachusetts to $11.00; Michigan to $8.90; Vermont to $10.00 and the state of Washington to $11.00.  Furthermore, the New York minimum rises to $11.00 on December 31, 2016 and the minimum wage in another 7 states will rise (or fall) based on changes to the consumer price index.  Those states include Alaska, Florida, Missouri, Montana, New Jersey, Ohio and South Dakota, while still others will adjust their minimum wages at different times of the year. Notwithstanding these hikes, SEIU and their Fight for $15 campaign continues to push for even greater increases with more union-sponsored work stoppages taking place across the country earlier this week.