COVID Sick Leave Reinstated, Extended

As we (hopefully) get closer to putting the pandemic behind us, some states and cities just continue to expand coronavirus emergency measures impacting businesses. A tale of 2 cities – or more accurately, one city and one state – when it comes to expiration of the COVID-19 specific sick leave that was mandated at the…

Read More »

Virginia OT and Wages Rising

On the first of May, the minimum wage in Virginia will exceed the federal minimum for the first time, rising from the current $7.25 per hour to $9.50 an hour. The Old Dominion is one of only five that will raise their minimum wage before next January with Connecticut 8/1/21, Florida 9/1/21, Nevada 8/1/21 and…

Read More »

Expanding the Ban the Box Restriction

Late last month, Illinois Governor Pritzker signed into law Senate Bill 1480, amending the Illinois Human Rights Act and expanding restrictions on the use of criminal background checks for employment purposes. The new law also obligates employers in the Land of Lincoln (who are required to file the federal EEO-1 report) to also submit equal…

Read More »

Court Validates Salary History Consideration

According to a federal District Court in Virginia, the use of salary history in employment decisions is a reasonable – and legal – tool for employers to consider in making employment decisions. Early this month, the court applied a precedent set by the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals (Spenser v. Virginia State University) versus a…

Read More »

PPP and EIDL Loans Exempted

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts caught up with the federal government and many other states this past week when Governor Charlie Baker signed many parts of HB 90 into law. Of primary importance to small business owners, the legislation excludes proceeds from Paycheck Protection Program (PPP) loans along with Economic Injury Disaster Loan (EIDL) advances from…

Read More »

Court Enjoins Dallas Sick Leave

A federal court in Dallas Texas has permanently enjoined the city of Dallas from implementing its paid sick leave law finding the 2019 ordinance to be in conflict with state law. The Texas Minimum Wage Act (TMWA) establishes the minimum wage in the state currently at $7.25 per hour, the same as the federal rate.…

Read More »

Connecticut Sexual Harassment Training

Connecticut small business owners – those with three or more employees – are cautioned that the extended deadline to complete sexual harassment training expires in just 10 days. The Times Up Act went into effect on October 1, 2019 requiring that all employees be provided two hours of training within their first six months of…

Read More »

DeSantis Signs Liability Shield Law

Florida became the most recent state in the nation to enact a liability shield law for businesses when Governor Ron DeSantis signed SB 72 earlier this week.  The legislation, which is the first concrete action taken by the legislature this session and the first signed into law by DeSantis this year, sets a high legal…

Read More »

Updating Liability Shields

In the absence of a national policy limiting business liability against claims that stem from the coronavirus pandemic, more states are stepping up with limited liability protection to ensure that small businesses are not unfairly subjected to frivolous litigation. Most recently, the state of West Virginia became the latest state to put a law on…

Read More »

Paid and Supplemental Sick Leave

Despite our getting closer to a complete reopening of the economy in the wake of the coronavirus pandemic, some employers around the country are still being saddled with additional mandates and dictates from their own state governments. One glaring example comes from the state of New Mexico, where the state senate last week passed a…

Read More »