Maryland became the 10th state in the nation (in addition to the District of Columbia) to enact a paid family and medical leave law when the democratic-led General Assembly overrode a veto of the bill by Governor Larry Hogan earlier this month. The Time to Care Act, as it is called, establishes an insurance program granting workers up to 12 weeks of partially paid leave for a host of reasons, including the birth of a child, caring for a sick love one, or dealing with a military deployment, among others. Effective June 1, the law covers the majority of workers in the state – those who’ve worked at least 680 hours over a 12-month period immediately preceding when the leave begins – and provides up to12 weeks annually at 90% of weekly wages up to a maximum of $1,000. On October 1, 2023, the state will begin collecting contributions to fund the program from both employers and employees at rates to be established by the state Department of Labor, while benefits will not be available until January 1, 2025. Employers with fewer than 15 employees will not be required to contribute, but their workers will and will be eligible for the program. Neighboring Delaware will join the group soon once Governor John Carney signs the Delaware Paid Family Medical Leave Act as expected. That bill, which has a threshold trigger of 25 employees, will be funded by employee and employer contributions and provide up to 80% pay for as many as 12 weeks. Contributions to the Family and Medical Leave Insurance Program will begin in 2025 with benefits becoming available in 2026. Effective the first of this month, the reasons for which employees in Oregon can take leave under the state paid sick and safe leave law are expanded during a public health emergency. Now under the law, eligible employees may also take protected leave for emergency evacuation orders where the employer’s place of business or the employee’s home address is affected or in cases where the air quality or heat index is at a level that would jeopardize the employee’s health. And finally, the state of Washington also amended its Paid Family and Medical Leave Law in that employees may now use PFML for bereavement within the first seven days of a covered loved one’s death and provides that all leave within the six-week postnatal period for a covered employee is presumptively medical leave and should be treated as such.