We may not know what will ultimately happen at the federal level regarding sick leave mandates, but the writing seems to be on the wall at the state level as more states are now taking a closer look at the issue. Notwithstanding strong opposition from the business community in the state of Maine, the Legislature’s Committee on Commerce, Research and Economic Development gave approval to “An Act To Support Health Workplaces and Healthy Families by Providing Paid Sick Leave to Certain Employees”, (LD 1159) and sent the bill to the full legislature recommending it be passed into law. The bill, which was approved by a party-line vote of 5-4 in committee, mandates that employers with 50 or more employees provide their workers with one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Businesses with fewer than 50 employees would be required to grant unpaid leave. The leave can also be taken to care for an ill family member or to care for one alleged to be a victim of domestic or sexual abuse. The Nevada Senate is going down that paid sick leave road as well with its approval (also by a party-line vote) this week of Senate 196 which, similar to the Maine proposal, also sets a 50-employee trigger for paid sick leave. The Nevada legislation, now before the Nevada Assembly for its deliberation, dictates one hour of sick leave for every 24 hours worked, but exempts government, administrative, construction and certain hospital workers. As we had previously advised our readers, the Mayor allowed the Washington DC universal family leave policy to become law last month, subject to a mandatory 30-day Congressional review. That 30-day clock has expired and the new DC universal family leave law became effective on April 7, 2017.