There continues to be much movement in a number of states on the paid family leave front, but the state of Oregon is moving the needle much further with an expansive definition of family members. Oregon Governor Kate Brown will be signing House Bill 2005 into law later today (scheduled for 11:15 AM PDT). Once she does, the Oregon Paid Family and Medical Leave Act will mandate 12 weeks of paid family leave for workers through a state-managed insurance program into which both employees and employers will be required to pay at 60% and 40% respectively. Most significantly however, the new law allows the individual employee to determine what constitutes his/her family for purposes of paid leave. The law allows coverage to care for spouses and domestic partners, siblings, parents and grandparents and “any individual related by blood or affinity whose close association with a covered individual is the equivalent of a family relationship.” Payments will not be required until January 1, 2022 but, once fully available to employees in January 2023, it will provide all employees in Oregon (with at least $1000 in annual wages) up to 12 weeks paid leave (with additional unpaid time possible in certain cases up to 18 weeks maximum) to care for/bond with a new child (born or adopted) or to care for a covered family member with a serious health condition.