Connecticut Sexual Harassment Training

Connecticut small business owners – those with three or more employees – are cautioned that the extended deadline to complete sexual harassment training expires in just 10 days. The Times Up Act went into effect on October 1, 2019 requiring that all employees be provided two hours of training within their first six months of…

Read More »

Other Important State Reminders

As we advised you a couple of weeks ago, the Connecticut Family and Medical Leave Act requires that employee contributions to the Connecticut Paid Leave Authority were to be deducted beginning January 1 and remitted to the state on a quarterly basis. Well, we want to remind you once again that the first quarterly payment…

Read More »

COVID Capacities Increasing

Following more slowly on the trend set by Texas and Mississippi when last week they removed all COVID related restrictions and shutdowns, a number of states this week have further relaxed their COVID related mandates on businesses operating at a percentage of full capacity. Specifically, the states of Arizona and Maryland have each announced that…

Read More »

Don’t Overlook Other Laws

Mentioning the state of Connecticut in the above paragraph reminds us that there are still other laws and mandates on the books relating issues other than COVID-related matters of which employers must be mindful. In that vein, we hasten to point out that the first quarterly payment from employers for the Connecticut Family and Medical…

Read More »

Connecticut Anti-harassment Law Coming

The minimum wage in Connecticut increased by $1 per hour on September 1 but we overlooked our note to remind our readers of the increase and we apologize for missing that opportunity. Coming next Thursday, October 1st however, Connecticut’s new anti-harassment requirement kicks in and we want you to be fully prepared. By that date,…

Read More »

Other State Issues to Note

Connecticut Governor Ned Lamont last week issued an Executive Order that creates a rebuttable presumption in the Nutmeg State that any employee who contracts the COVID-19 virus likely did so in their workplace. In such an instance, the employer has every right to deny the worker’s claim however under the language of EO 7JJJ, the…

Read More »

States Codifying 80/20 Rule

Almost a full year and a half ago, the US Department of Labor (DOL) officially rid the federal regulatory bureaucracy of the so-called 80/20 Rule, which governed minimum wage calculations and requirements for tipped employees when they perform ‘non-tip’ functions. Since then however, individual states have sought to adopt their own versions of the 80/20…

Read More »

Fair Workweek Laws Are New Priority

From those who gave us the $15 minimum wage and dramatic expansion of paid sick leave and other employee benefit mandates across much of the country, they’re establishing a new priority moving forward – Fair Workweek laws. The Fight for $15 and its associated labor groups have seemingly shifted gears and are now organizing in…

Read More »

Connecticut Sexual Harassment Law Expanded

In our haste to keep an eye on and advise you of all the various legal changes that have occurred over the past few months in all states across the Dunkin’ footprint, we seem to have missed a couple of changes that took effect in Connecticut this week. First, Connecticut’s minimum wage increased by $0.90/hour…

Read More »