When as expected, Vermont Governor Pete Shumlin signs the bill passed by the legislature last week, Vermont will become the fifth state to pick up the mantle of mandating private employers provide paid sick leave to their employees. The legislation provides that beginning next January 1, employers in the Green Mountain state must give employees a minimum of three days paid sick leave every 12 months. Subsequently, the requirement increases to at least five days over a 12 month period beginning January 1, 2019. The law does allow new employers to implement a one year waiting period from the time their first employee is hired before the accrued time may be used. The mandate applies to all employers, but exempts employees under the age of 18 years and those who work less than 20 weeks.