On the first of May, the minimum wage in Virginia will exceed the federal minimum for the first time, rising from the current $7.25 per hour to $9.50 an hour. The Old Dominion is one of only five that will raise their minimum wage before next January with Connecticut 8/1/21, Florida 9/1/21, Nevada 8/1/21 and Oregon 8/1/21 being the others. In addition, Virginia Governor Ralph Northam signed into law the Virginia Overtime Wage Act (VOWA) on March 31, thereby mandating time and a half pay for all covered employees – whether hourly or salaried – and establishing an extended statute of limitations, a different rate of calculation from the federal calculation under the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and significant additional liability for employers who may misclassify employees as exempt. The VOWA provides that the regular rate for an hourly employee is one-fortieth of ALL HOURS WORKED DURING THAT WORKWEEK, rather than one-fortieth of the regular 40-hour workweek. Consequently, an employer’s liability for unpaid overtime could be multiples different from federal authorized calculations under the FLSA. Virginia employers are strongly advised to review and prepare carefully for VOWA becoming effective on July 1.